Valkyrie Riders Cruiser Club
December 19, 2025, 02:03:57 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Ultimate Seats Link VRCC Store
Homepage : Photostash : JustPics : Shoptalk : Old Tech Archive : Classifieds : Contact Staff
News: If you're new to this message board, read THIS!
 
VRCC Calendar Ad
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: I Need A Baseball Ruling..........  (Read 411 times)
G-Man
Member
*****
Posts: 7922


White Plains, NY


« on: October 02, 2025, 05:51:40 AM »

Man on first.  Fly ball out to left field is caught, or foul and not caught.  I can't exactly remember the scenario..... however, the first base runner left for second, but had to return to first.  But the runner never actually gets all the way back to touch first base.  Batter hits one deep down the right field line and the runner "on first" scores.

I may have missed it, but my seat was right above and one section behind first and I didn't see Chisolm get back to the bag before the ball was back in play.

What's the call?   
Logged
Jersey mike
Member
*****
Posts: 11379

Brick,NJ


« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2025, 07:03:48 AM »

The left fielder missed the catch while diving.

Chislom had a lead and it was 2 outs with him on first, it was go on contact or even when the pitch was delivered, it was hard to tell just when he got the jump.

With men on base, if the base runners want to have a lead off base they can run on contact, but risk either being caught leading, get stuck in a rundown or a potential DP with a short fly ball while running and cannot return to base before throw gets there. Runner must tag on any fly ball out. Runner does not need to tag up on a fielders choice.
Logged
Moonshot_1
Member
*****
Posts: 5148


Me and my Valk at Freedom Rock


« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2025, 10:12:09 AM »

Been a while since I did this but my take. We can assume the runner on first is obligated to return to first because of a catch and the need to tag up or a foul ball where the ball is dead and the runners return to their base.

Assuming the runner does not tag up and is just in the vicinity of the base and the pitcher makes the next pitch to the batter, we now got nothing. The play would require an appeal prior to the next pitch.

In the case of a foul or dead ball, a runner isn't required to return to the base. The runner cannot advance until the pitcher has ball on the mound at which time the ball is back in play.
Logged

Mike Luken 
 

Cherokee, Ia.
Former Iowa Patriot Guard Ride Captain
Pages: [1]   Go Up
Print
Jump to: